WEBSITE X5 UNREGISTERED VERSION - The Four Countries of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Перейти до вмісту

Головне меню:

 A lot of people today are eager to learn English and get to know more about England and its culture. The United Kingdom is the 22nd-most populous country, with an estimated 64.5 million inhabitants. It is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of governance. Its capital city is London, an important global city and financial centre, the fourth-largest in Europe and second-largest in the European Union. The current monarch—since 6 February 1952—is Queen Elizabeth II. The UK consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.The latter three have devolved administrations, each with varying powers, based in their capitals, Edinburgh, Cardiff, and Belfast, respectively.
   It is one of the most populated countries in the world. The greater part of the population is urban. About 80 percent of people live in numerous towns and cities. More then seven million people live in London area. Very often the inhabitants of The United Kingdom and Northern Ireland are called English.
   The surface of the British Isles varies very mach. There are many mountains in Scotland, Wales and northwest of England but they are not very high. Ben Nevis in Scotland is the highest mountain. The northern part of Scotland is mountainous and is called the Highlands. Scotland is also famous for its beautiful lakes, which are called Lochs.
   The mountains in G.B. are not very high. There are many rivers in G.B., but they are not very long. The Themes is the deepest, the longest and the most important river in England. The climate of G.B. is mild. It is not very cold in winter and hot in summer. February is the coldest month in the year. The summers are cool and rainy. July is the warmest month. There is much rain and fog in autumn and winter.
The information on the stereotypes about the British is here

Назад до вмісту | Назад до головного меню